A/B Testing, Bing Ads, Coding, Content Marketing, Cross-Device Targeting, Email Marketing, Google Adwords, Inbound Marketing, Internet of Things, Landing Pages, Link Building, Marketing Automation, Mobile Marketing, Native Advertising, Optimization, Paid Search, Paid Social, Programmatic Advertising, Search Engine Marketing, Search Engine Optimization, Social Media, UI/UX, Web Analytics

What I Can Do for You as Your Digital Marketer

I am writing this blog in the midst of dead week, stoked that all but one of my classes are coming to an end.

This week has been full of preparing for presentations, finalizing group projects, and getting mentally prepared for finals week… But as I am sitting in bed writing this blog, I am sad knowing that this week will conclude my beloved digital marketing (digi) classes.

I already knew going into this class back in September that I would love everything about it, but I had no clue that it would single-handedly be the class that shaped my future. This class has taught me skills and concepts that I know I will be using in my career someday. So let’s re-cap the quarter.

Over the past 10 weeks I have written 17 blogs (18 including this one) for a total of 19,880 words (that’s a lot of words). They have collectively received over 450 views, over 50 likes and have been viewed by people in Bellingham, Seattle, Portland and Los Angeles (fingers crossed that some of those people are potential employers).

But enough about my popularity, let’s talk about the 3 blogs that received the most engagement from my viewers.

Here are My Top 3 Blog Posts:

With 30 views, 2 likes and 1 comment, third place goes to… So You Want to Be Google Analytics Certified

This blog, which was actually an extra credit blog, explains how I studied in order to pass the Google Analytics Individual Qualification (GAIQ) exam. Google Analytics (GA) is a reporting platform that tracks and allows you to analyze your visitor’s behavior on your website. In order to get GA certified you need to pass the GAIQ with an 80% or better (I passed with a 91%). I began studying by watching the Digital Analytics Fundamentals and Google Analytics Platform Principles videos and also looked through the additional readings and resources attached to the lessons. Then I supplemented the Google lessons by reading additional blog posts and completing study guides that I found online. *Hint: Don’t use any resources that are more than a few years old, the test changes as Google updates their analytics platform.

With 35 views and 5 likes, second place goes to… 3 Must Watch Trends in Mobile Marketing

This blog, also one of my favorites to write, talks about the growth of mobile marketing. Cellphones have become such a huge part of our daily lives, in fact 91% of Americans keep their cellphone within arm’s reach at all times. Because of this, smartphones have become an effective channel for marketers to engage with consumers through. They have allowed innovative marketing techniques like mobile videos, push notifications and retail apps to flourish, which in return allows us marketers to collect more data on our audiences than ever before.

With 51 views and 5 likes, first place goes to… Take the Guesswork out of Driving Traffic to your Website

This blog, which features a link to my personal website, serves an introductory article into the world of A/B testing. This was probably one of my top 5 favorite topics to write about. A/B testing and knowing how to optimize your website, in my opinion, very important skills to have as a marketer. It seems like the end goal of almost every digital marketing concept (paid search, paid social, content marketing, etc.) is to have your audience end up on your website (and for them to complete some sort of conversion). So why would you direct them to a website to landing page that you don’t confidently know is going to appeal to them?

Those three topics just scratch the surface of what we covered in digi this quarter. Here is a complete list of topics that I learned:

  • Web Analytics
  • A/B Testing
  • Website Optimization
  • Content Marketing
  • Inbound Marketing
  • Social Media Marketing
  • Paid Social
  • UI/UX
  • Landing Pages
  • Search Engine Optimization
  • Search Engine Marketing
  • Google AdWords & Bing Ads
  • Email Marketing
  • Marketing Automation
  • Coding
  • Programmatic Advertising
  • Native Advertising
  • Mobile Marketing
  • Internet of Things
  • Cross-Device Targeting

This class made me realize that in order to be a good marketer, you need to be a well-rounded marketer.

I feel very fortunate that I was able to supplement my learning by being able to apply a lot of the things that I’ve learned in this class to my current job as the marketing coordinator for a real estate agent at RE/MAX. Here are a few things I have taken from this class and implemented into my marketing strategy at RE/MAX:

  • Increased engagement on our social media accounts by following the 5-3-2 rule and focusing on posting engaging and original content.
  • Integrated the use of HootSuite so that we can schedule social media posts in advance.
  • Utilized Google Analytics to track email marketing and social media campaigns.
  • Created ad campaigns that utilize cross-device targeting, appearing on both desktop and mobile devices.
  • Used basic HTML and CSS to fix broken links and create new landing pages on our website.
  • Focused on improving the quality of our backlinks from social media posts and third party marketing sites.
  • Used A/B Testing to determine which sender would receive a higher open rate.

This may be my last blog that is required for digital marketing, but I know that I am not going to stop learning about all the skills and concepts behind digital marketing. I feel very confident that this class has prepared me for a successful future in marketing.

Farewell for now,

Brianna Baker

Leave a Reply

